ewfashionblogger

ewfashionblogger – The Highlights of London Fashion Week, February 2012: Day 1

The Highlights of London Fashion Week, February 2012: Day 1

Last week I shared with you my favourite pieces from both the Mary Katrantzou and NEWGEN for Topshop launches, and in addition to that, I showed you how I would style them. However, this week I’m going to give you the highlights of London Fashion Week, Febraury 2012 (or LFW for those in the know). Lets start with Day 1:

Day 1

The first London Fashion Week show was Antoni & Alison. I loved a few of their pieces… but others did nothing for me. The theme seemed to be almost like a collage. Some of the dresses looked like the were made from torn paper, others looked like they had been painted and drawn on, and several had digital prints in small sections of the garment.Photos: Catwalking.com.

The second London Fashion Week show was Caroline Charles. Non of the pieces from this collection really jumped out at me. Then came Orla Kiely – I’m a fan of her prints but unfortunately not the fashion. The fourth London Fashion Week show was Corrie Nielsen. Dresses that swamped the figure were found here – and again, weren’t really to my taste.

Then came Fyodor Golan – who I hadn’t heard of before – but this design duo impressed me with some of their pieces:Photos: Catwalking.com.

The next London Fashion Week show was Bora Aksu – here are my favourite pieces from the collection. However, most of the pieces weren’t like this, the majority were pale grey, white black and beige. I love the way the yellow blends into the white on the two left hand dresses.

Photos: Catwalking.com.

The next London Fashion Week show was Emilia Wickstead. I loved pretty much all of the collection, because it was all very feminine. Soft colours were used throughout – classic shapes were also utilised, but combined with a selection of more modern minimalistic shapes too. Here is the link to the LFW Emilia Wickstead show gallery.

Another London Fashion Week show I enjoyed was the Maria Grachvogel show. I loved the silky fabrics, the fiery printed fabrics and the metallic fabrics. I also loved her soft and subtle draping. Click here to see the images from her show.

Zoe Jordan was the next London Fashion Week show – and I loved the collection. Rich, earthy colours dominated the catwalk, and I also felt a subtle 1970s influence.

Photos: Catwalking.com.

Next up were Felder Felder – with a lot of interesting garments, but here are my favourites – I love the combination of colours!Photos: Catwalking.com.

The next London Fashion Week show was Jean-Pierre Braganza: I loved the use of colour in this collection. Check out the images here.

Nothing in the PPQ collection, nor Basso & Brooke collection interested me this LFW. Then came Jena. Theo, which, even though I enjoyed, didn’t seem like catwalk fashion with the washed out jeans and peep-toe heels. The final London Fashion Week show of day 1, was the Central Saint Martins MA Fashion – the images are definitely worth looking at. Luke Brookes, Mei Lim-Cooper, Yifang Wan and Anne Thobjornsen are ones to watch out for.

Check out my blog on Thursday for The Highlights of London Fashion Week, February 2012: Day 2.

This entry was published on February 27, 2012 at 4:29 am. It’s filed under Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

