ewfashionblogger

ewfashionblogger – Why I Love Basso & Brooke…

Why I Love Basso & Brooke…

Last Monday I shared with you why I love Balmain, however today, I’m going to tell you why I love the fashion house of Basso & Brooke so much… First for a little bit of background:

Basso & Brooke was founded in 2003 by Bruno Basso (a Brazilian), and Christopher Brooke (a Brit). Specializing in groundbreaking, digital print, they produced their first collection in 2004, winning the design duo the Fashion Fringe award. Since February 2005, Basso & Brooke have been showing their collections at London Fashion Week. Tim Blanks of style.com said:

“Basso & Brooke are the Pixar of clothes”

In 2006, Basso & Brooke were commissioned by The Dorchester Collection (a luxury hotel chain) to produce a dress for each of their 5 famous hotels; The Beverly Hills Hotel, Plaza Athénée, Hotel Meurice and Principe di Savoia. In May 2009, Michelle Obama wore a piece from their SS09 collection. Also in May of 2009, Basso & Brooke collaborated with Converse for charity, as well as designing limited edition packaging for L’Oreal Paris.

Basso & Brook have been noted on the annual ‘Vogue List’ as ones to watch, and have been awarded ‘Best New Designers’ at the Elle Style Awards. They have had numerous other collaborations with companies such as Coca-Cola, Swarovski, Sky HD, Mac, GHD, Nicholas Kirkwood, Habitat, Haviannas, Harrods as well as others.

So why do I love Basso & Brooke?  Let me start off with the fact that I absolutely love digital prints. I think they’re fantastic. I’ve tried designing a few digital print dresses myself, but none of them could match up to the quality of Basso & Brooke! Here are a few examples of some of my favourite Basso & Brooke prints:

 My favourite, I have to say, is the bottom, second from left. I love the snowy-white cat, combined with the hot, zingy, flash of pink. The water droplet on the link fence, combined with the fluffy blue wool is somehow perfect, and the whole combination gives this print a different quality… its surreal, but fantastic.

Now on to their clothes. I love Basso & Brooke because I love digital prints, and digital prints are at the heart of everything that Basso & Brooke do. Looking at their website, there is no escaping from the realms of prints and colour. YAY! My favourite collection from Basso & Brooke has to be the Spring Summer 2012. Here’s a few of my favourite pieces:

I love the intensity of the colour in these outfits, and I think they are all really wearable! I know that sounds a strange thing to say, but I can imagine wearing all of these on some summery holiday abroad. I love the draping of the fabric, and how the pattern sits perfectly. Everything has obviously been meticulously planned. One thing that fascinates me, is that you are never sure whether the fabric is draped, or whether it’s the print that purposely looks draped. I guess it’s a combination of both.

Now, as I said, I love prints and colour, but Basso & Brooke are no one-trick-pony. Their Autumn (Fall for the Americans) Winter 2007 collection, a collaboration with milliner Stephen Jones, shows their softer side, with fantastic use of fabrics:

I love hats. Once, I wore three (one on top of each other) to IKEA when I was about five. So, when I saw these, I fell in love. I mean, who wouldn’t want to wear a rubber ringy on their head??? The fabrics are great too. I love the plasticky coats, and the silky duvet jacket. (It’s probably not meant to be called a duvet jacket, but that’s what it seems like to me).

So, to sum up; I love Basso & Brooke because of their ability to create intensely coloured, crazy prints, on beautifully draped fabric; I love how they can create a more subtle, luxurious feel with their fantastic use of fabrics; and finally I love the hats (thank you Stephen Jones).

Check out my blog next Monday for The Highlights from Paris Couture Week…

ewfashionblogger – Your online fashion stylist.

This entry was published on February 6, 2012 at 5:58 am. It’s filed under Fashion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

