ewfashionblogger

ewfashionblogger – Why I Love Acne (The Fashion House)…

Why I Love Acne (The Fashion House)…

Last Monday I gave you your 2012 New Year’s Fashion Resolutions. However today, I’m going to share with you why I love Acne (the fashion-house not the ailment!). First a little bit of history:

Founded in Stockholm in 1996, Acne (Ambition to Create Novel Expressions) was originally not a fashion house. Acne was originally involved in diverse projects such as advertising, graphic design, Internet games and TV production. It was not until 1997, when Jonny Johansson (co-founder), spotted a gap in the market to produce unisex denim, and hence produced 100 pairs of ‘raw denim jeans’ that were given to friends and family. The jeans with characteristic bright red stitching were soon featured in Swedish Elle magazine and were an instant hit.

In 1998, Acne’s first full collection was launched, setting the tone of the brand. Acne’s signature style was cool, subtly luxurious, and effortlessly chic. Acne was fashionable but wearable. “Fashion is the best form of self-expression. We like to design pieces that together form the coolest wardrobe, but is ultimately wearable. It becomes one way of thinking as individual pieces, but together creates a strong, modern and considered statement.” explains Jonny Johansson, Acne’s Creative Director.

Acne is now a globally recognised fashion-house, with stores and projects in 9 different countries. So why do I love Acne so much?

For starters, I love how the brands clothes are sleek and minimalistic. They are wearable, which is more than you can say about some brands; no six-inch high heels (well not many); no crazy dresses that are impossible to wear with anything; no silly, fluffy, sparkly bags. Everything is classic and modern at the same time. Take the Himalaya bag:

It is a classic bag, with modern elegance to see you through multiple seasons. From the chunky clips and buckle, to the simple and not fussy flap, there is no doubt about it; this is a beautiful bag. Acne aren’t manufacturing ‘impulse spend’ pieces, these are manufacturing key investment pieces; well, it’s not exactly a pinch of salt at £830 per bag. Don’t get me wrong, not all of their clothes are staples, because no, not all of their clothes are going to last you for ever in fashion terms, but what I am saying is this: a large majority of their clothes are: extremely wearable, cool, staples.

What’s more… I love how their clothes aren’t boring; they’ve all got a little edgy twist. Ok, maybe I lied a little when I said that all of their clothes are wearable *cough, cough*, I’m not really sure how you would wear these, but edgy they are and that’s why I (sort of) like them!

Another pair of Acne heels that I love are these below. The heels above are questionable as to whether they are wearable or not, but the ones below, I am almost sure that you could wear them with anything and you would look effortlessly cool. Obviously you would have to style them right; you couldn’t just expect them to magically look great. You could wear them with anything from jeans to a cut-out Acne dress or skirt, but the accessories, and everything else would have to work. But then again, that goes for everything.

Back to the boots. Well I say boots, but what actually are they? Are they sandals, boots or sandalboots? I love the mixture of the velcro straps, and the suede. I love the different colours, the brown of the leather, the orangey brown of the suede, the shiny black of the top strap, and the mat black of the heel and rubber grip of the sole. And that brings me on to my next point… these sandalboots mix girly, with adventurer. The heel and the suede are perfect contrast to the rubber grips and the velcro straps.

Earlier I mentioned an Acne cut-out dress or skirt. What I really meant were these:

What I love about both of these, is the fact that it looks like someone has just come along and decided to snip off part of the skirt or dress. They are edgy and cool, but again, wearable. I don’t know how Acne do it but all I can say is that they do it well. The first time I met Acne I wasn’t sure that I liked it, but the more I saw the more I grew like it, and suddenly I realised what they were doing; they were re-inventing everything so that the ordinary woman felt like she could wear it and look extraordinary. And that is why I love Acne.
All images taken from the Acne website.

Check out my blog next Monday for Why I Love Alexander McQueen.

ewfashionblogger – Your online fashion stylist.

This entry was published on January 9, 2012 at 5:37 am. It’s filed under Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “ewfashionblogger – Why I Love Acne (The Fashion House)…

  1. thestrass on said:

    Simple design but wonderful clothes.

Leave a Reply

